Bobby Siller, Chairperson Kevin Jones, Secretary Victoria Butler, Member Ella Fields-Bunch, Member Vera Murrill, Member



Jackie Greene Director Erica Cartwright Deputy Director

# **Perquimans County Board of Elections**

333 Winfall Blvd PO Box 336 Hertford, N.C. 27944

Phone: 252.426.5598

Fax: 252.426.5068

#### **MINUTES**

The Perquimans County Board of Elections held its meeting on Tuesday, January 16, 2024, in the meeting room at the Board of Elections Building, 333 Winfall Blvd Hertford, NC.

#### **Board of Elections**

Members Present: Bobby Siller, Chair; Kevin Jones, Secretary; Vera Murrill, Member; Ella Fields-Bunch, Member; Victoria Butler, Member

### **Others Present**

Jackie Greene, Director; Erica Cartwright, Deputy Director

Chairman Siller welcomed all in attendance. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. Chairman Siller had opening remarks to be placed in the record: Thanks and appreciation to Vera Murrill for her efforts through the years to find the BOE a proper location; Thanks and appreciation to Director Green and Deputy Director Cartwright for their tireless work in getting the BOE offices moved, the new building up, running, and functioning in a smooth and seamless manner; and Thanks and appreciation to Frank Heath, County Manager and the Perquimans County Board of Commissioners for all their work in securing the new Perquimans County Board of Elections location. All of these efforts are worthy of acknowledgement and have the Board of Elections gratitude.

# **Consent Agenda**

Upon a motion made by Member Butler and second by Member Fields-Bunch, the Board unanimously voted to approve the agenda as presented.

# **Director's Report**

Director Greene provided the Board with a brief update on the BOE budget, the registered voter information for Perquimans County, technology usage details, as well as information regarding the 2024 training and conferences.

# **Board Member Comments, Concerns/Committee Reports**

N/A

#### **Old Business**

N/A

### **New Business**

The board reviewed and discussed resolution #2024-01 regarding the polling buffer zone for the West Hertford location. Upon a motion made by Member Butler and second by Member Murrill, the Board unanimously voted to approve the resolution.

Upon a motion made by Secretary Jones and second by Fields-Bunch, the Board unanimously voted to approve the change of time for the February 6, 2024 Absentee meeting from 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

### **Public Comment**

Director Greene provided additional information and clarification to public questions regarding polling buffer zones.

## **Closed Session**

Upon a motion made by Member Merrill and second by Member Butler, the Board unanimously voted to move to closed session per § 143-318.11. (a) (6) & (9) at 7:12 p.m.

# **Adjournment**

Upon a motion made by Secretary Jones and second by Member Butler, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 7:51 p.m.

Bobby Siller, Chair

Ella Fields-Bunch, Member

victoria Butler, Member

Kevin Jones Secretary

Vera Murrill, Member