County pay out all of the Comp Time pay for the Sheriff's Office. This cost would be around \$56,991 plus taxes and FICA taxes. He also recommends that the County pay it out each month starting in February so that it will not be such a hardship for the County in the future. On motion made by T. Kyle Jones, seconded by Fondella A. Leigh, the Board unanimously approved Mr. Heath's recommendation to pay out the Comp Time pay for the Sheriff's Office and approve the following Budget Amendment No. 22:

BUDGET AMENDMENT NO. 22 GENERAL FUND

		AMOUNT		
CODE NUMBER	DESCRIPTION OF CODE	INCREASE	DECREASE	
10-345-000	Local Option Sales Tax 1%	70,380		
10-510-020	Sheriff - Salaries	56,992		
10-510-050	Sheriff - FICA	4,360		
10-510-070	Sheriff - Retirement	9,028		
EXPLANATION: To amend FY 20/21 budget to include comp time payout for our deputies.				

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

CLOSED SESSION: CONSULT WITH ATTORNEY REGARDING A LEGAL MATTER AND CLOSED SESSION MINUTES

There being no further comments from the public, Chairman Nelson proceeded with the closed session. Pursuant to NC General Statute 143-318.11(3), the Board will need to go into Closed Session to consult with their attorney regarding a legal matter and closed session minute approval. On motion made by Fondella A. Leigh, seconded by Charles Woodard, the Board unanimously voted to go into Closed Session.

The Closed Session was adjourned and the Regular Meeting reconvened on motion made by Alan Lennon, seconded by Charles Woodard, and unanimously approved by the Board.

No action was required from the Closed Session.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further comments or business to discuss, the Regular Meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m. on motion made by Charles Woodard, seconded by Fondella A. Leigh.

	Wallace E. Nelson, Chairman	_
Clerk to the Board		
	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *	
	SPECIAL CALLED MEETING	
	January 19, 2021	

Special Notice for tonight's meeting: The Perquimans County Board of Commissioners' SPECIAL CALLED MEETING will be held on Tuesday, January 19, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. in the Meeting Room of the Perquimans County Library located at 514 S. Church Street, Hertford, NC 27944. Because this is considered an essential meeting, the public will be able to attend but social distancing will be required. If you have any questions, please contact the County Manager's Office at (252) 426-8484.

7:00 p.m.

The Perquimans County Board of Commissioners met in a SPECIAL CALLED MEETING on Tuesday, January 19, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. in the Meeting Room of the Perquimans County Library located at 514 S. Church Street, Hertford, NC 27944. The meeting was moved from Commissioners Room located on the first floor of the Perquimans County Courthouse Annex.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Wallace E. Nelson, Chairman Fondella A. Leigh, Vice Chair

Joseph W. Hoffler T. Kyle Jones
Alan Lennon Charles Woodard

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT: Frank Heath, County Manager Mary Hunnicutt, Clerk to the Board

Hackney High, County Attorney

Chairman Nelson called the meeting to order. Commissioner Lennon gave the invocation and the Chairman led the Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman Nelson explained that this Special Called Meeting was scheduled to hold a Closed Session, per NCGS #143-318-11(3), to consult with the county attorney regarding a legal matter.

CLOSED SESSION: CONSULT WITH ATTORNEY REGARDING A LEGAL MATTER

Pursuant to NC General Statute 143-318.11(3), the Board will need to go into Closed Session to consult with the county attorney regarding a legal matter. On motion made by T. Kyle Jones, seconded by Fondella A. Leigh, the Board unanimously voted to go into Closed Session.

The Closed Session was adjourned and the Special Called Meeting reconvened on motion made by Fondella A. Leigh, seconded by Charles Woodard, and unanimously approved by the Board.

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING ADJOURNMENT

There being no further comments or business to discuss, the Special Called Meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m. on motion made by Alan Lennon, seconded by Charles Woodard.

	Wallace E. Nelson, Chairman
Clerk to the Board	******